Cochrane Community Awards 2021 – nomination deadline extended to April 30

Cochrane, AB – There is still a bit more time to submit your nomination for the 2021 Cochrane Community Awards; the deadline has been extended to Friday April 30.

“The organizing team has moved to delay the awards ceremony due to rising COVID-19 and COVID variant rates in Cochrane, coupled with an announcement by the province to roll back the reopening plan to Stage 1,” says Valerie McCracken, chair, Cochrane Community Awards. “Therefore, we are also able to extend the nomination deadline.”

“We have seen a very impressive number of nominations submitted and a solid commitment to support the event from community sponsors,” says Ms. McCracken. “Each of our 13 sponsorship categories have been filled again this year, many by legacy sponsors.  From the steady flow of nominations we have already received it is clear there are many grateful residents who want to see local individuals, businesses and organizations recognized for the tremendous effort they have gone to in boosting our community during the pandemic.”

Cochrane Community Awards is an annual program that recognizes outstanding local citizens, community leaders, schools, businesses and organizations who help make Cochrane a great place to live.

The awards celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions in our community through a total of 13 award categories, including the prestigious Order of Cochrane 2021, presented by Cochrane’s mayor and council. All nominees will be recognized.

Completing a nomination is easy through the online form. The option to nominate by completing and submitting a paper application form is also available.

The Cochrane Community Awards program is overseen by a committee of local representatives including: educators, seniors, businesses, sustainability champions, as well as the Cochrane and District Chamber of Commerce and the Town of Cochrane.

The program is funded through sponsorship from local groups and businesses who recognize the value in activities that encourage community building and making Cochrane a vibrant place to live.

A new date and details of the COVID-adapted awards ceremony will be announced at a later date.